ycfoo\’s

Do not take Panadols (Paracetmol)!!!

Posted by ycfoo 于 九月 3, 2006

Below is a forward message I received.

xxxxxxxxxx

My husband was working in a hospital as an IT engineer, as the hospital is planning to set up a database of its patient. And he knows some of the doctor quite well.

The doctors used to tell him that whenever they have a headache, they are not willing to take PANADOL (PARACETMOL). In fact, they will turn to Chinese Herbal Medicine or find other alternatives. This is because Panadol is toxic to the body, and it harms the liver. According to the doctor, Panadol will reside in the body for at least 5 years. And according to the doctor, there used to be an incident where an air stewardess consumes a lot of panadol during her menstrual as she needs to stand all the time. She’s now in her early 30’s, and she needs to wash her kidney (DIALYSIS) every month. As said by the doctor that whenever we have a headache, that’s because it is due to the electron/Ion imbalance in the brain. As an alternative solution to cope with this matter, they suggested that we buy 1 or 2 cans of isotonic drink ( eg.100PLUS), and mix it with drinking water according to a ratio of 1:1 or 1:2 (simply, it means one cup 100plus, one cup water.or 2 cups water). Me and my husband have tried this on several occasions, and it seems to work well. Another method will be to submerge your feet in a basin of warm water so that it brings the blood pressure down from your throbbing head.

As Panadol is a pain killer, the more Panadol you take, the lesser would be your threshold for pain (your endurance level for pain).

We all will fall ill as we aged, for woman, we would need to go through childbirth. Imagine that we had spent our entire life popping quite a substantial amount of Panadol (Pain Killer) when you need to have a surgery or operation, you will need a much more amount of general anesthetic to numb your surgical pain than the average person who seldom or rarely takes Panadol. If you have a very high intake of Panadol throughout your life (Migraine, Menstrual cramps) it is very likely that normal general anesthetic will have no effects on you as your body is pumped full with panadol and your body is so used to pain killer that you would need a much stronger pain killer, Morphine??

Value your life, THINK b4 you easily pop that familiar pill into your mouth again.

xxxxxxxxxx

First thought that came to my mind was ‘See la! I know panadol is not good one. Mom still asks me to take them whenever I’m not feeling well.’

Ironic, huh? Doctors themselves do not trust the usage of Panadols, but they use them on their patients. Doctors help to safe life? Your head! I know I shouldn’t generalize, but I just can’t help…

I never take pills when I was young. (Of course now I’m still young, I mean… when I was very very very young. Get me?😉 ) Main reason was that I couldn’t swallow those pills no matter how hard I tried. (Mom forced me to; and honestly, I don’t like to see the worry face) Other than that, I hate doctors so much that I got myself into a mind-set that doctors are bad; doctors are so bad that they use the profession to achieve their own mean end, instead of helping people. Back then, I didn’t know there’s such thing as ‘generalization’. So, I tried very hard not to have any appointment with any doctor when I was not feeling well. You see, I could just stay at home sick for the whole week, refusing to go meet a doctor. Of course this happened only starting… hrmm… since I was 12 years old? Before that time, my mom could always force me to… either using tricks or just pulled me into the car and sent me to the clinic.

For me, the best medicine would be to rest, and let the antibiotics in our body to fight for our health. So, while in high school, I skipped lotsss of classes. Once I feel even a bit uncomfortable, I would skip the classes. My attendance was very very low back then… 70%? Or lower? You might see my seat empty today, occupied the next day, and the following day empty again. People might think that I wasn’t sick, I was just plain lazy. I don’t care. I want to rest, so I didn’t turn up in school.

But then, in college, I no longer can do like that because… *sigh*
1. Pop quizzes!!!
2. No full attendance, no bonus!!!
3. Sick on the day test was held? Present MC!!!
4. Always skip classes, lecturer boh-song you, useless also you performed very well in exams!!!
5. Absence more than twice? Warning letters to be sent out!!!
6. … bla bla bla…

So… no choice lar… got to force myself to classes even if I were sick. Then, not enough rest, sickness become more serious, then must consume pills, and then must present MC…

But then… my attendance was not that high also in college lor… for certain subjects only lar… when the lecturers were the type who didn’t care about attendance, or … hehe…

Good thing now, I know about the other 2 alternatives. Got to try them, instead of facing those mean doctors! (I know I generalize again… don’t care! I just don’t like doctors!)

5条回应 to “Do not take Panadols (Paracetmol)!!!”

  1. redsponge said

    Wah…

    Soon I would be Panadol’s only fan…

  2. ycfoo said

    means… u gonna continue taking Panadol???

  3. De Saint said

    Commentary:
    This piece of scaremongering nonsense claims that Panadol is toxic to the body and should not be taken. The message claims that Panadol is always dangerous and should be avoided altogether. However, these claims are unfounded. Paracetamol, the active ingredient in the Panadol products mentioned, is widely considered by health professionals to be a safe and effective product for the relief of mild pain and fever so long as it is used as directed. (Paracetamol is also known as “acetaminophen”).

    Paracetamol can certainly be dangerous if the recommended dosage is exceeded. When taken as directed, however, paracetamol is a safe choice for mild pain relief and side-effects are rare. Myths and misconceptions about the general use of paracetamol may arise from media reports about fatal overdoses. If a substantial overdose is taken, serious liver damage and even death can occur unless the patient receives treatment quickly. However, overdoses large enough to cause significant liver damage are most commonly deliberate rather than accidental. The UK’s Paracetamol Information Centre notes that:
    It is difficult to see how a person can take a dose of paracetamol that is sufficient to be fatal without being aware of it. Indeed, research with patients who have overdosed shows that overdoses are taken deliberately, and in a majority death was the intended outcome.
    There are some reports that paracetamol may also cause kidney damage if large doses are taken over an extended period, especially if the person has existing kidney problems . Again, these problems are only likely to occur if normal dosage recommendations are significantly exceeded.

    The message also claims that “Panadol will reside in the body for at least 5 years”. However, there is no evidence to back up this claim. A normal dose of Paracetamol is eliminated from the body in a matter of hours. According to the Paracetamol Information Centre, “Paracetamol does not accumulate in the body following normal doses”. The Centre also notes:
    Paracetamol is rapidly absorbed, the soluble form being absorbed faster than the solid tablet form. The peak blood level for both forms is similar and is usually less than 20 mg/litre following a 1000 mg dose. Peak serum levels usually occur 30 minutes to 2 hours after ingestion. Elimination from the body is rapid with a half-life of about two hours.
    The claim that long term use of Panadol will permanently reduce a person’s pain threshold is also unsupported. A dose of paracetamol can raise the pain threshold and thus reduce feelings of pain. However, I have found no evidence to suggest that this will have any residual or ongoing effect on a person’s pain threshold once the paracetamol has been eliminated.

    The message suggests that doctors are “in the know” about Panadol and will not take it themselves because of its toxicity even though they continue to prescribe it to patients. Thus, the implication is that doctors are deliberately withholding crucial health information from the public. Perhaps a very small minority of unethical health professionals might be willing to act in this way for reasons of their own. However, it is simply ludicrous to suggest that the entire medical profession is deliberately endangering the health of patients by remaining silent on the “dangers” of recommended-dose paracetamol.

    As per usual with spurious warnings of this nature, the details are extremely vague and cannot be verified. The hospital mentioned in the message is not identified nor is the author, the doctors, or even the “air stewardess”. If the stewardess habitually overdosed on paracetamol over a long period of time, then she may well have developed health problems as a result. However, this does not mean that the product is inherently dangerous. It just means that she was too stupid to read dosage instructions or heed well publicized warnings about paracetamol overdose. And of course, the lack of details in the message means that there is no way of checking if the stewardess is actually sick or even if she is a real person.

    The non-medicinal remedies suggested are probably harmless and may even help, especially if the person believes they will. However, if such remedies are not effective, then there is certainly no need to avoid the sensible use of paracetamol because of the lies and misinformation contained in this foolish warning message.

    Of course, it is always important to review dosage and safety instructions before taking any medication. Users of paracetamol should ensure that the specified dosage is not exceeded and that the medication is not taken for extended periods without a doctor’s approval. Many common medications contain paracetamol. Therefore, users should check that they do not take more than one medication containing paracetamol at the same time as this could lead to accidental overdose. People with existing liver or kidney problems should consult a doctor before using paracetamol or other pain relievers.

    It is wise to check that “health warnings” such as this are true before you forward them. Otherwise, you are helping to spread false, alarmist and ultimately useless information.

  4. ycfoo said

    De Saint:

    Thanks for visiting and spend so much of ur precious time for such a long comment.

    At the very first of the post, I mentioned that the article was a forwarded message I received and by doing this, I allow the readers to judge by themselves whether the message is believable. And of course, very obvious from the post that I showed that I chose to believe. And I belive also, you would respect people for their choices.

    The post was intended to show my reactions or opinions regarding the forward message. I’m sorry if you don’t agree with me but…there’s no way you can control my thoughts, my actions or even my site, right?

    However, it is simply ludicrous to suggest that the entire medical profession is deliberately endangering the health of patients by remaining silent on the “dangers” of recommended-dose paracetamol.

    Ironic, huh? Doctors themselves do not trust the usage of Panadols, but they use them on their patients. Doctors help to safe life? Your head! I know I shouldn’t generalize, but I just can’t help…

    See that?? I make it clear that I am generalizing. Can’t you just tweak your brain a bit?

  5. jacure said

    i think that panadols should be ban out of barbados

发表评论

 
